headphone upgrade ?

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
raymondh

22 Nov 2020

I have been using a pair of KRK 8400 headphones for several years, which I chose for tonal similarity to my KRK VXT-6 monitors.

I do like the KRK headphones, and I think I get better mix results using them than I do from my monitors (I'm sure it's because of room acoustics rather than any criticism of the VXTs themselves. The biggest gap I find in mixing, is probably in the bass, where both my VXT monitors and my phones sound great, but in the car or on large speakers, my tracks are boomy or muddy.

So.. I'm thinking of upgrading my phones (as cheaper than replacing monitors or spending a bunch on room treatment that may or may not help).

I've read the Sennheiser HD 600s seem to be ubiquitously popular and in my price range.
Does anyone know if that would be a significant step up from the KRK phones, any more likely to assist in mixing (bass or generally)?

thanks!

pushedbutton

22 Nov 2020

Audio-Technica’s ATH-M50X are worth a look.
@pushedbutton on twitter, add me, send me a message, but don't try to sell me stuff cos I'm skint.
Using Reason since version 3 and still never finished a song.

raymondh

22 Nov 2020

pushedbutton wrote:
22 Nov 2020
Thanks.
In reviewing that, discovered the the HD 600 impedance (300 ohm) would be too high for my Focusrite audio interface anyway (maximum 250 ohm)!

The ATH-M50X is only 38 ohm.

Rising Night Wave

22 Nov 2020

try these:

https://geizhals.eu/shure-srh1840-a715927.html

Shure SRH1840

i own one. when i was buying my 1st studio reference headphones (i still have these one) i noticed everyone are talking about these Shure SRH1840 headphones because according to their price they are best buy (around 400€~450€) and beats all headphones (also studio reference) up to 1.000€.

they are absolutely best buy.