Native Instruments Maschine Plus Standalone? Leaks!! Reaction

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 1835
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 07 Sep 2020


PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1328
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 07 Sep 2020

Pricey... Makes the mpc one more appealing 🤔

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 1835
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 08 Sep 2020

Exactly. Let's see if NI found a way to erase all the negative points with the Maschine +


PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1328
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 08 Sep 2020

Looked at the mpc one, the price seemed good, I could sell my MK3 to buy one, but then reading the features I was not impressed, so I'll keep my MK3, more powerful, more options. The + could be interesting but the price... Maybe a newer iteration with a lot more power could make the price more palatable; I can wait.

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1328
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 08 Sep 2020


User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 1835
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 08 Sep 2020

I am so tired of all black devices. Just on the brushed (?) look it's a + for me :cool:,
I was looking into the Mk3, but the software could not deal with VST3 (Reason), is it still true?

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1328
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 08 Sep 2020

bxbrkrz wrote: ↑
08 Sep 2020
I am so tired of all black devices. Just on the brushed (?) look it's a + for me :cool:,
I was looking into the Mk3, but the software could not deal with VST3 (Reason), is it still true?
No vst3 support yet, it is still true as far as I'm aware. I'm also looking forward to using Reason within the MK3. Those on Mac can use it cause it supports au.

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1328
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 08 Sep 2020


PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1328
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 08 Sep 2020

Now I want one..

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 1835
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 08 Sep 2020

Watched twice already.
MPC One's pads are too small for my fat weiners.
Too bad about VST3, but not a deal breaker.

User avatar
dioxide
Posts: 1272
Joined: 15 Jul 2015

Post 08 Sep 2020

Looks fantastic! I'd kill for a Reason version of this.

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 6354
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 08 Sep 2020

So is it confirmed? Actual fully-fledged MASSIVE, FM8, MONARK, and PRISM all work in true standalone mode? I can't find this on their website, and none of the videos (so far) seem to show this, except for MASSIVE showing up on screen in the 10-11+ minute demo.
Win 10 | Reason 11 Suite |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live 2 | Roland System 8 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 1835
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 08 Sep 2020

It says "on board"on their website. To me that's standalone. If they tried to be funny it will be insanely destructive for their new box, if you still need to plug your computer. We shall see.

User avatar
antic604
Posts: 200
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Post 08 Sep 2020

PhillipOrdonez wrote: ↑
08 Sep 2020
Looked at the mpc one, the price seemed good, I could sell my MK3 to buy one, but then reading the features I was not impressed, so I'll keep my MK3, more powerful, more options.
:shock: :roll:

How can you even compare Mk3 with MPC One?? The former is a glorified controller vs. a standalone, fully-featured production machine.
MPC One // A4 Mk1 // OT Mk1 + Bitwig 3 // Reason 11 // Studio One 5 Pro @ Lenovo Y730 15'' i7-8750h
my music - https://soundcloud.com/antic604

User avatar
antic604
Posts: 200
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Post 08 Sep 2020

EnochLight wrote: ↑
08 Sep 2020
So is it confirmed? Actual fully-fledged MASSIVE, FM8, MONARK, and PRISM all work in true standalone mode? I can't find this on their website, and none of the videos (so far) seem to show this, except for MASSIVE showing up on screen in the 10-11+ minute demo.
Pretty sceptical about it too (you could only see presets browser, really), but we'll see I guess :)

A dedicated quad-core CPU should be enough to at least offer some limited real synthesis options, just like on the MPCs.
MPC One // A4 Mk1 // OT Mk1 + Bitwig 3 // Reason 11 // Studio One 5 Pro @ Lenovo Y730 15'' i7-8750h
my music - https://soundcloud.com/antic604

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 6354
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 08 Sep 2020

antic604 wrote: ↑
08 Sep 2020
Pretty sceptical about it too (you could only see presets browser, really), but we'll see I guess :)

A dedicated quad-core CPU should be enough to at least offer some limited real synthesis options, just like on the MPCs.
Oh indeed. I'm willing to wager their "quad-core" CPU is also ARM-based, just like the MPC/Force line. Will be interesting to see some tear downs. That said, I'm not giving up my MPC Live 2 even if Massive, Monark, etc are able to be used standalone on the new Maschine+. I'm just too comfortable with the MPC workflow at this point.
Win 10 | Reason 11 Suite |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live 2 | Roland System 8 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1328
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 08 Sep 2020

EnochLight wrote: ↑
08 Sep 2020
So is it confirmed? Actual fully-fledged MASSIVE, FM8, MONARK, and PRISM all work in true standalone mode? I can't find this on their website, and none of the videos (so far) seem to show this, except for MASSIVE showing up on screen in the 10-11+ minute demo.
https://cdm.link/2020/09/maschine-stand ... l-details/

One would have to consider how does one program a massive patch from the maschine... Maybe you can import a your presets you create on the computer?

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 6354
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 08 Sep 2020

antic604 wrote: ↑
08 Sep 2020
A dedicated quad-core CPU should be enough to at least offer some limited real synthesis options, just like on the MPCs.
EnochLight wrote: ↑
08 Sep 2020
I'm willing to wager their "quad-core" CPU is also ARM-based, just like the MPC/Force line.
*UPDATE: the new Maschine+ has an Intel Atom quad-core CPU:

https://www.musicradar.com/news/first-l ... leton-link
Win 10 | Reason 11 Suite |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live 2 | Roland System 8 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1328
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 08 Sep 2020

antic604 wrote: ↑
08 Sep 2020
PhillipOrdonez wrote: ↑
08 Sep 2020
Looked at the mpc one, the price seemed good, I could sell my MK3 to buy one, but then reading the features I was not impressed, so I'll keep my MK3, more powerful, more options.
:shock: :roll:

How can you even compare Mk3 with MPC One?? The former is a glorified controller vs. a standalone, fully-featured production machine.
Easy. One has the power from my computer, all the plugins. A device with limited instruments can't compete right now.

Yes, convenient to be standalone. But... Then maschine+ has the edge there with the instruments it has, and likely will include more, and who knows, maybe it will support vsts. Whichever does it first (vst) will have my full attention. Right now I rather have my money and the MK3 and my other stuff, instead of the + or the MPC one.

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 6354
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 08 Sep 2020

PhillipOrdonez wrote: ↑
08 Sep 2020
Easy. One has the power from my computer, all the plugins. A device with limited instruments can't compete right now.

Yes, convenient to be standalone. But... Then maschine+ has the edge there with the instruments it has, and likely will include more, and who knows, maybe it will support vsts. Whichever does it first (vst) will have my full attention. Right now I rather have my money and the MK3 and my other stuff, instead of the + or the MPC one.
I get where you're coming from, but the whole point of going fully standalone is to NOT be tethered to a computer. Comparing any glorified MIDI-controller tethered to a computer (where you can have ANY and ALL plugins you want in any DAW) is like comparing apples to oranges. Indeed, in a case like this, there's zero standalone solutions that will likely be attractive to you.
Win 10 | Reason 11 Suite |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live 2 | Roland System 8 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 6354
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 08 Sep 2020

EnochLight wrote: ↑
08 Sep 2020
*UPDATE: the new Maschine+ has an Intel Atom quad-core CPU:

https://www.musicradar.com/news/first-l ... leton-link
So if it's quad-core, it's likely the Intel Atom based on the Avoton platform released in 2012, as that's the only Intel Atom series I know of that has a quad-core line. The Atom C2530 runs a 1.7 to 2.4 Ghz clock at 9 watts. The C2550 runs a 2.4 to 2.6 Ghz clock at 14 watts. At any rate, I suspect that the versions of Massive, Monark, etc - running in standalone - will likely NOT be full featured versions like we see on the desktop. I'm thinking reduced voice counts, etc - and a "curated" preset library to match those limitations.
Win 10 | Reason 11 Suite |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live 2 | Roland System 8 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1328
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 08 Sep 2020

EnochLight wrote: ↑
08 Sep 2020
PhillipOrdonez wrote: ↑
08 Sep 2020
Easy. One has the power from my computer, all the plugins. A device with limited instruments can't compete right now.

Yes, convenient to be standalone. But... Then maschine+ has the edge there with the instruments it has, and likely will include more, and who knows, maybe it will support vsts. Whichever does it first (vst) will have my full attention. Right now I rather have my money and the MK3 and my other stuff, instead of the + or the MPC one.
I get where you're coming from, but the whole point of going fully standalone is to NOT be tethered to a computer. Comparing any glorified MIDI-controller tethered to a computer (where you can have ANY and ALL plugins you want in any DAW) is like comparing apples to oranges. Indeed, in a case like this, there's zero standalone solutions that will likely be attractive to you.
That's right. Right now, they aren't powerful enough to warrant the money right now.

One of the reasons why this is true in my case, is because I got stuff I can use when I don't want to use the computer and I do use them a lot and write music in them that I later bring into the computer to finish, which is what basically these offer: sketch pads for writing and having fun.

One can use the MK3 with the computer screen off and not need to touch it until one wants to save the project for the first time. Would be good if one could just name it from the hardware.

User avatar
Boombastix
Posts: 1679
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post 08 Sep 2020

N.I. has already announced that VST3 is in the works for both Maschine and Komplete Kontrol. No exact date yet, but it was a while ago they said so, so maybe a couple of weeks or 1+ mo?
10% off at Waves with link: https://www.waves.com/r/6gh2b0
Disclaimer - I get 10% as well.

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 1835
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 08 Sep 2020


User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 7326
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 08 Sep 2020

I remember when I used to always be in search of the best all around controller...and/or the best all-in-one workstation. Searching for something that has displays that removes the necessity of looking at the computer screen for information.

And then I finally realized that laptops as I use them were the perfect solution all along...and I questioned why I would be trying to get away from its very informative display. Everything I need to see is on it.

I use a MacBook Air which runs on its battery all day long. Which is the next thing I don't get. Why doesn't this have a built-in battery? So now you move away from a computer, but have to be tethered to the wall (likely near your computer), or tethered to some external battery. For this price, and the size of the thing, it should have a built-in battery or allow removable battery.

There are things I look for in hardware these days. Analog (offering something other than digital) and/or something portable (runs on battery) and sometimes both if possible. The power of batteries is so much better these days, and companies continue to omit the battery power option, thinking that having a battery brick tethered is a viable and desirable solution—it can fall right out and it's an extra cost. That's no fun lol.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests