Pls recommend synth to complement Peak!

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
svenh

10 Apr 2020

Thinking about getting another hardware synth. I am a hobby musician that make songs in a DAW (live) and I use a lot of virtual instruments. I want to make pop music and melodic EDM (you could check out https://soundcloud.com/svenhe to see what I mean).

Some time ago, I bought my first hardware synth, a Novation Peak. I have designed quite a bit of sounds in VST synths, but I wanted the more direct hands on feeling of turning knobs rather than fiddling with the computer mouse. And I like it a lot.

I have started looking for another synth, complementing the Peak. For fun, for creativity. I don't have that much space in my studio so the synth can not be too big, but I still think it would be nice with a keyboard rather than another desktop. I find it *slightly* cumbersome to hook up the Peak via midi to use it - it would be nice with something that I could just plug into the wall outlet, connect headphones and go! I want something where most functions are easy accessible without a lot of menu diving! And it should be fairly intuitive to use.

I am currently interested in Korg Monologue XD, Modal Argon 8 and ASM Hydrasynth. Do you think that any of those could be a nice second synth? Any other suggestion? (I can not really afford a much more expensive synth than those mentioned.)

Thanks,
Sven

jayhosking

11 Apr 2020

I've had the Peak for some time and really liked it. Recently I picked up the Argon8 and Hydrasynth at the same time. After a trial period, I've sold the Argon8 and I also sold the Peak and have kept the Hydra.

The Argon8 really didn't do much to me, and while the body was sturdily made, the knobs feel truly terrible.