Mixing desks

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
chrisb81

05 Dec 2019

Hi,

I've been using Reason for 10+ years with a variety of 4x4 and 8x8 USB audio interfaces.

Recently, I've been wanting to try mixing down to an outboard desk, for a few main reasons:

1. I'd like to use actual physical faders/controls to speed up my mastering and recording a bit.

2. I'd like to be able to patch in analog hardware to my effects chain relatively easily (eg, run all my outs pre-mix via a patchbay and then plug things in as and when I want).

3. I want to see if I can achieve a better sound quality/improve my production skills by trying this approach. (note, I'm not a pro - this is something I do in my spare time as a hobby just for myself and my band, so a lot of this is experimentation and just trying to learn new things).

As I see it, I could buy an audio interface that gives me enough ins and outs to do this, and then I could run all the outputs to a purely analogue mixing console to mix down on that... but then I have no recall of my desk settings, or ability to record fader changes mid-song.

The other approach is to scrap the idea of mixing down outboard, and have a MIDI/USB control surface to control Reason, and just let Reason do the final mix. This is OK, but doesn't give me the option to mix down outboard or allow me to patch in external equipment during the mixdown.

So, what I'd really like is a mixing console with motorised faders that links to Reason's mixer controls, but yet also has ins and outs for every fader, and handles the mix on the console itself. I've been searching and searching, but I can't seem to find what I'm looking for. Does such a thing exist?

Or, am I going totally down the wrong road and there's another way I can do this? (maybe the right type of audio interface coupled with a MIDI control surface?).