CV to hardware

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
Jackjackdaw
Posts: 100
Joined: 12 Jan 2019

Post 08 May 2019

Can reason send cv out to hardware with a dc coupled interface? Just saw there is a new max for live thing that can do that.

User avatar
ScuzzyEye
Posts: 1284
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 08 May 2019

Yes, Reason has always been able to do this from version 1. Thor makes the CV to Audio conversion easy. Expert Sleepers (makers of physical CV hardware) also have an RE to make it even easier (allowing for quick calibration of levels): https://www.propellerheads.com/shop/rac ... ontroller/

Jackjackdaw
Posts: 100
Joined: 12 Jan 2019

Post 08 May 2019

That's awesome. Props should make more of a big deal about it.

DJMaytag
Posts: 85
Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Location: Madison, WI

Post 12 May 2019

Jackjackdaw wrote:
08 May 2019
That's awesome. Props should make more of a big deal about it.
Indeed. I wish they'd push Expert Sleepers to further develop the Silent Way platform in RE format.

Silent Way VST's do work as a way to shuttle CV in and out, but it's a PITA with LOTS of wiring involved. I have a maxed out Expert Sleepers rig and have it all working in Reason, an ES-3 with ES-5 and a full complement of output expanders (ESX-8MD midi module, 3x ESX-8GT, and 2x ESX-8CV).

User avatar
Faastwalker
Posts: 1427
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 15 May 2019

Jackjackdaw wrote:
08 May 2019
That's awesome. Props should make more of a big deal about it.
The big stumbling block is the requirement for a DC coupled audio interface or one of the Expert Sleepers module solutions ..... if you have Eurorack. You can also use a MIDI to CV converter to get stuff out. I have a modular synth with a built in MIDI to CV section. It has Pitch-out, Gate-out, Clock-out & Mod-out. Works great controlling from Reason but you can't do all the fancy tuning stuff that the expert sleepers stuff allows. Cool controlling parameters with a CV source in Reason via the Mod-out. I just want more of them now. Considering a Hexinverter Mutant Brain as a way to expand output. Also been looking at the Expert-Sleepers eurorack options, but this will be a lot more expensive than the Mutant Brain. But there are plenty of options out there now for getting CV out (and into) Reason & other software.

User avatar
Boombastix
Posts: 429
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post Yesterday

The Presonus interfaces have good price and they put out a high DC voltage, enough for CV use. You need both DC coupled, but also high voltage. If the voltage is too low you would need to use some kind HW voltage multiplier, but I am unsure how well that works in V/oct situations when precision is required.
10% off at Waves with link: https://www.waves.com/r/6gh2b0
Disclaimer - I get 10% as well.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Google [Bot] and 0 guests