Controlling ReDrum with Roland TR-8

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
Ray_Lions
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Apr 2018

Post 27 Apr 2018

Is there a way to use the pads on the Roland TR-8 to control the sequencer on the Redrum?
I'm looking to use the sounds in the ReDrum and program it on the fly using theTR-8 as a controller, without having to use my mouse.
Thanks,
Ray

botnotbot
Posts: 201
Joined: 26 Oct 2017

Post 29 Apr 2018

It should be possible. I've thought about doing this for the TR-8S.

You can get the Remote SDK documentation and examples by signing up as a developer with Properllerhead. You don't need a VAT/company to share your Remote work.

User avatar
dioxide
Posts: 1044
Joined: 15 Jul 2015

Post 29 Apr 2018

I put together a Remote map for the first gen TR8. You should be able to find it here if you do a search. On that unit, the sequencer buttons can't be MIDI mapped as they don't output any MIDI data.

User avatar
dioxide
Posts: 1044
Joined: 15 Jul 2015

Post 29 Apr 2018


stp2015
Posts: 193
Joined: 02 Feb 2016

Post 29 Apr 2018

Not possible currently b/C TR-08 buttons do not output midi. Best you can do is program patterns on tr08 and have the tr08 trigger the redrum.

User avatar
dioxide
Posts: 1044
Joined: 15 Jul 2015

Post 29 Apr 2018

For controlling Redrum I'd recommend an Arturia Spark or Spark LE. I have Remote codecs for these devices that I'm happy to share. They have 1-16 x0x style programming buttons that can be mapped to Redrum's step sequencer.

User avatar
DJBuddhaBear
Posts: 245
Joined: 21 May 2016
Location: Arizona

Post 30 Apr 2018

dioxide wrote:
29 Apr 2018
For controlling Redrum I'd recommend an Arturia Spark or Spark LE. I have Remote codecs for these devices that I'm happy to share. They have 1-16 x0x style programming buttons that can be mapped to Redrum's step sequencer.
I have a Spark LE and would be very interested in getting one of those Remote codecs. Thanks. :)

User avatar
dioxide
Posts: 1044
Joined: 15 Jul 2015

Post 30 Apr 2018

DJBuddhaBear wrote:
30 Apr 2018
I have a Spark LE and would be very interested in getting one of those Remote codecs. Thanks. :)
Here you go. There are two sets of files here: Install both. It will show a yellow warning triangle but everything will work fine.

The advantage of this is that you can lock the sequencer to one device (Redrum for instance) and the instrument section to another (ABL3 or a Combinator for instance).

The mappings are fairly basic at the moment, but you can add your own.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
DJBuddhaBear
Posts: 245
Joined: 21 May 2016
Location: Arizona

Post 30 Apr 2018

dioxide wrote:
30 Apr 2018
DJBuddhaBear wrote:
30 Apr 2018
I have a Spark LE and would be very interested in getting one of those Remote codecs. Thanks. :)
Here you go. There are two sets of files here: Install both. It will show a yellow warning triangle but everything will work fine.

The advantage of this is that you can lock the sequencer to one device (Redrum for instance) and the instrument section to another (ABL3 or a Combinator for instance).

The mappings are fairly basic at the moment, but you can add your own.
Fantastic. I downloaded it, installed it, and it is working quite nicely. Yeah, they are very basic but that works for me right now. In the future, I might adjust some of mappings but as is, it is perfect. Thanks. :)

User avatar
bitley
Posts: 1093
Joined: 03 Jul 2015
Location: sweden

Post 07 Mar 2019

Hi guys! Have any one of you thought out a way to do the opposite? I really like programming beats with ReDrum :)

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests