Just got Maschine Mk3!

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
chimp_spanner

09 Mar 2018

I've been wondering for ages what the big fuss is with these colourful grid things all the kids are using. Turns out they're pretty damn awesome. But, I am totally new at this way of working and I'm struggling to find some clear, well articulated videos on the relationship between patterns, scenes and the arranger. Interested to hear how other Maschine users out there work. One day in and I can write some pretty cool patterns but I'm getting a headache trying to think about how to structure it into songs, how to re-use patterns and how to place things on the timeline. Any help most welcome!!

pongasoft
RE Developer

10 Mar 2018

Have you followed the tutorial included in the documentation? If my memory is good, it is pretty good and gives you a good sense of the various concepts...

Yan

Wook

10 Mar 2018

I got Push 2 and it took me a while to decide between Maschine and Push. Push got the edge because I felt the same about Maschine's pattern approach. I can record in a classic timeline view with the Push in Live. It works ok with Reason, too.

demt

10 Mar 2018

still getting over getting trigger finger pro mind blowing
Reason 12 ,gear4 music sdp3 stage piano .nektar gxp 88,behringer umc1800 .line6 spider4 30
hear scince reason 2.5

United South

11 Mar 2018

Think of scenes as blocks where you can duplicate everything in the sequencer. For example if you wanted to expand your patterns or midi to 16 bars you could do that in scenes. Works good with loops too. I have the studio and use the transport to control Reason. The software is good just convoluted imo and nowhere near DAW specs. The learning curve is high for a drum machine/groove box imo.

chimp_spanner

11 Mar 2018