Issue with MDP218 & Reason - Video included

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
TheGreatRapsBeat

07 Feb 2017

Hey Guys,
First off, I'm new here so Hello! Second I am also new to the later versions of Reason. I have recently started using Reason 9, but prior to that I haven't used reason since Reason 5. So I have a bit to learn. I currently have a MPD218 and an Oxygen 25 4th gen. The Oxygen works well as it should and how most people have reported. But my MPD on the other hand... not so much. Everywhere I look people report how awesome it works in Kong.

I've followed the manual, followed youtube videos, I've searched in countless forums and on Reddit to no avail. So here I am. 1 - I set it up as a generic device. When I go to "find" a port to use I hit a pad and it comes up MPD218 Port A. Great? Not so much. Pads 1-3 don't trigger anything. Pad 4 triggers Pad 1 in Kong Drum Designer. Pad 3 triggers Pad 6 and so on. I've attempted to Map the controller in the MPD editor to no avail as well. Anyone have any insight as to what I can do to solve my issues? Other then spending $800 on a Nektar which seems to also be a common consensus. Below is a link to a youtube video I just shot showing my issue.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r5hwI8gZVQA

-008'

07 Feb 2017

Did you install the "MPD 218 Editor" ? Thats what it takes to fix it, IIRC.

Just
1. open that MPD Editor app, and
2. change the preset of the MPD from the default 1 to Preset 5 .

NOTE: dont forget to send that loaded preset from the app to the actual MPD!!

SOMETHING like that... lol I mean, it could be preset #10 or 3 or 7, but this is the method that will fix you up.
:reason: "Reason is not measured by size or height, but by principle.” -Epictetus

Free Kits and :refill: @ -008' Sounds

SoulState

07 Feb 2017

Can't figure out why you're having issues with your MPD.
I bought one a few months ago...Reason's Kong works with it perfectly.