Cores vs. Frequency

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
elMisse

09 May 2016

I have very little knowledge about Reason 8 and different kind of CPU's. Only thing I have heard is about some advantages with multiple physical cores. But not VERSUS higher frequency.

So, Would it be a better option to choose a Xeon cpu with 8 cores at 2,2-2,8Ghz OR i7 CPU with 4 cores at 3,5-4Ghz ?
Has anyone from Propellerhead ever written any deeper information about these kind of things?
What do you advanced users say? :geek:

Olivier

09 May 2016

More cores does indeed seem to be good. A 6 core i7 like the 5960/30/20, even if close to 2 years old tech, beats a newer 4 core i7 skylake in several tests I've read that focused on multicore performance. Seems that 5 slower cores do better then 3 faster ones. What will tip the balance towards the newer CPUs I dunno.
If you look at the benchmark thread here you can see what a 4 core Xeon manages to do vs a 6 core 5960/30. How they compare price wise I have no idea.
:reason: V9 | i7 5930 | Motu 828 MK3 | Win 10

elMisse

09 May 2016

Thanks for the link to that thread!
I just didn't notice it :) I should come around much more often.

I will now post my results. Maybe I just learned the truth.

Exowildebeest

09 May 2016

Cores vs. Frequency definitely should be a drum & bass artist or something.

elMisse

09 May 2016

Exowildebeest wrote:Cores vs. Frequency definitely should be a drum & bass artist or something.
:redface:

Gorgon

11 May 2016

eauhm wrote:More cores does indeed seem to be good. A 6 core i7 like the 5960/30/20, even if close to 2 years old tech, beats a newer 4 core i7 skylake in several tests I've read that focused on multicore performance. Seems that 5 slower cores do better then 3 faster ones. What will tip the balance towards the newer CPUs I dunno.