Pads, Keys, Nektar (oh my!)

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
Rook

17 Sep 2015

I've got a hardware synth that I'm using as a controller right now for keys, but I've been wanting something for drum pads and more hands-on control of Reason in general. So getting a Nektar controller of some sort is looking very appealing.

I'm considering two possible routes: (1) Continue using my synth keys and just add a Korg PadKontrol and Nektar P1, or (2) get the full-blown Nektar P4

I like the PadKontrol idea for the fact that it has the full 16 pads (probably better pads too) and it would look awesome side-by-side with a P1 :lol:

But do you think I'd be missing any additional control the P4 might offer? I'm mainly wondering about controlling Kong and how well that would work using the PadKontrol and P1 in tandem, versus just using a P4...

Any thoughts?

DeltaHotelVictory

17 Sep 2015

I have no experience with Nektar hardware, but I used to have only an electrical piano to do the keys in Reason and I recently got an Ableton Push for a ridiculously good price. There is a clever piece of software by Retouch Control which offers very deep integration with Reason. I am very enthousiastic about this setup, having high quality pads for drums as well as good visual feedback from the screen of the Push Controller. BTW all Rack Extensions are fully controllable out of the box provided that you create a track in the sequencer for it. Maybe someone can chime in how this setup would compare to a Nektar Panorama device?

Rook

17 Sep 2015

I was actually looking at that on the retouch control website. It does look really cool. Was it difficult to get setup? You've got to run a separate software thing in the background, right?

Sent from my D6616 using Tapatalk

EnochLight

17 Sep 2015