iOS 9 to fully support AU

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5730
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 13 Jun 2015

For iOS users, this is actually pretty bad ass:

http://9to5mac.com/2015/06/12/ios-9-aud ... sturments/
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
normen
Posts: 3431
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 14 Jun 2015

This is pretty awesome though I was rather expecting Apple to do the opposite and only allow separate applications as "audio plugins" on OSX too, like it was/is on iOS. From a security standpoint thats the better solution because you don't have to execute arbitrary code (plugin) in the user and memory space of an application (host). I do think this is the better solution overall though.

User avatar
Gaja
Posts: 998
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Germany

Post 14 Jun 2015

If props would manage to RE in there...
Cheers!
Fredhoven

User avatar
tiker01
Posts: 1217
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 14 Jun 2015

Gaja wrote:If props would manage to RE in there...
Yes it would be really nice if Re-s could work on iOS.
    
Budapest, Hungary
Reason 10
Lenovo ThinkPad e520 Win10x64 8GB RAM Intel i5-2520M 2,5-3,2 GHz and AMD 6630M with 1GB of memory.
:rt: :reason: :essentials: :re: :refill: :PUF_balance: :ignition: :PUF_figure:

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5730
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 14 Jun 2015

About RE's.. I have to imagine that their sandboxed nature and essentially being managed by Reason as a "virtual OS" would allow them to run on iOS as well as Android or any other platform - as soon as Reason can. That said, I have no idea actually.
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
normen
Posts: 3431
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 14 Jun 2015

EnochLight wrote:About RE's.. I have to imagine that their sandboxed nature and essentially being managed by Reason as a "virtual OS" would allow them to run on iOS as well as Android or any other platform - as soon as Reason can. That said, I have no idea actually.
Given what info about this is publicly available - yes, its definitely possible.

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 7998
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 14 Jun 2015

This is Doug Wyatt's project - you may remember him from Opcode creating OMS and with Apple creating OSX's Audio/MIDI system. 

For those interested in hearing more, here's Doug's talk from two days ago at WWDC 2015:

https://developer.apple.com/videos/wwdc/2015/?id=508 

And he's a very talented musician as well!
:)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
normen
Posts: 3431
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 14 Jun 2015

Honestly Audio Units were a wee bit over-designed, good call to make a simpler ObjC overlay for it.

User avatar
Theo.M
Posts: 997
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 14 Jun 2015

normen wrote:This is pretty awesome though I was rather expecting Apple to do the opposite and only allow separate applications as "audio plugins" on OSX too, like it was/is on iOS. From a security standpoint thats the better solution because you don't have to execute arbitrary code (plugin) in the user and memory space of an application (host). I do think this is the better solution overall though.

i think there was such a big dev uproar about au sandboxing that it deterred them

User avatar
normen
Posts: 3431
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 15 Jun 2015

Theo.M wrote:i think there was such a big dev uproar about au sandboxing that it deterred them
Actually v3 AUs run in a separate process. And I didn't hear any "uproar", developers should easily see the advantages. This is something different than sandboxing anyway. Separate apps and separate users on an OS are not "sandboxing".

User avatar
Theo.M
Posts: 997
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 15 Jun 2015

Theo.M wrote:i think there was such a big dev uproar about au sandboxing that it deterred them
normen wrote: Actually v3 AUs run in a separate process. And I didn't hear any "uproar", developers should easily see the advantages. This is something different than sandboxing anyway. Separate apps and separate users on an OS are not "sandboxing".
ok sorry i misunderstood but there was definitely an online forum uproar from quite a few major devs about logic and au becoming sandboxed.. so much that apple dropped it. Sorry I confused what you were saying with sandboxing. 

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 2 guests