Ensoniq ASR-10 documentary.. Illmind (producer, Eminem, Kanye) references Reason!

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5854
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 25 Mar 2015

While perusing old Ensoniq hardware videos, I found this old (2013) documentary on the ASR-10 (my favorite hardware sampler workstation of all time).  Turns out that !llmind not only used an ASR-10, but also Reason.  The screen shot is stock, but it's kind of cool that RE's were plugged in the video (it's at the 2:55 mark):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6u-d642gVAo


Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
bpmorton
Posts: 416
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 25 Mar 2015

When they say that the ASR colors the sound....they are dead wrong. In Keyboard mag's second sampler shootout it was found that the ASR had the flattest input frequency..even flatter than Akai and Kurzweil. Output was just as flat if I recall. I still have that issue of Keyboard mag.

Brian

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5854
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 25 Mar 2015

bpmorton wrote:When they say that the ASR colors the sound....they are dead wrong. In Keyboard mag's second sampler shootout it was found that the ASR had the flattest input frequency..even flatter than Akai and Kurzweil. Output was just as flat if I recall. I still have that issue of Keyboard mag.

Brian
Yeah, when they said that it made me giggle.  The only thing that "colors" the sound on the ASR-10 was the awesome effects, but you had to send the sample through the effects to hear it.  
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
bpmorton
Posts: 416
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 26 Mar 2015

btw

there is a guy in ebay that sells SCSI CD rom drives along with tons of samples on CD. I just picked one up for my TS-12 and it included most of the Ensoniq factory CD roms.

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5854
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 27 Mar 2015

bpmorton wrote:btw

there is a guy in ebay that sells SCSI CD rom drives along with tons of samples on CD. I just picked one up for my TS-12 and it included most of the Ensoniq factory CD roms.
I had the SCSI CD-ROM with my ASR-10, but the only disc I had was The Art of Transwaves (which was cutting edge awesome at the time). It was much faster than the old floppy disc.
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
bpmorton
Posts: 416
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 28 Mar 2015

Is this the disc you are referring to?

http://www.soundengine.com/en/ensoniq-a ... waves.html

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5854
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 28 Mar 2015

bpmorton wrote:Is this the disc you are referring to?

http://www.soundengine.com/en/ensoniq-a ... waves.html
That was the one!   ;)
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
Despondo
Posts: 488
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Post 09 Apr 2015

I've converted all of my ASR-10 samples for use with Reason, but have yet to find a way to emulate the unique ASR-10 layer switch buttons very well within Reason.  Any ideas?

User avatar
MarkTarlton
Posts: 526
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Santa Rosa, CA

Post 09 Apr 2015

love the asr! that rap was ground breaking! :D

User avatar
Some Desperate Glory
Posts: 157
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 09 Apr 2015

The ASR-10 was the centerpiece of my studio from about 1993 through 2007 (when I broke down and started using a DAW).  I think when people talk about how the ASR-10 "colors" the sound (and I agree with them) they are talking about two things:

1.  The per-sound filter.  It was a kind of weird filter w/o resonance but it certainly had a nice, "rounding" feel for lack of a better word.

2.  The effects.  It used the same DSP engine as the DP/4 and in my opinion are some of the best digital effects from a musical standpoint anywhere.

What made the ASR-10 amazing for me is that you could record into RAM via the line-in AND mix it with the sequencer.  So, I had a recording studio right there in the ASR-10.  I hooked up my M1, my drum machine, my Prophet-600 and a mic and I recorded everything without tape.  In 1993.

Fun fact, the chip that drove the effects unit in both the DP/4 and the ASR-10 was designed primarily by Bob Yannes, who also designed the SID when he was at Commodore. 

User avatar
bpmorton
Posts: 416
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 09 Apr 2015

Despondo wrote:I've converted all of my ASR-10 samples for use with Reason, but have yet to find a way to emulate the unique ASR-10 layer switch buttons very well within Reason.  Any ideas?

Did you use Rubber Chicken's Translator or something else to convert the samples?

Brian

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 2 guests