Elektron Digitakt

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
Post Reply
electrofux
Posts: 385
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

21 Apr 2017

Though i have sworn never to buy a hardware sequencer when Midi Clock comes into play this Digitakt thing looks really nice.
I wonder how easy it would be to create a Rewire-Overbridge setup to get around the Midi Clock issues.
I figure i can use a plogue bidule patch and host the Overbridge Plugin in there. But i wonder if that works when triggering Reason devices via the 8 Midi Tracks especially if the latency gets compensated. Anybody with overbridge Reason experience? I would love to have the easy Parameter Locks.
How is midi coming out the Overbridge Plugin in general? Can you assign it to Rewire Channels?


User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 194
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

21 Apr 2017

The Akai MPC is dead. The only minus about it is stereo out only.

electrofux
Posts: 385
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

22 Apr 2017

Man, i like what i see. Looks very very hands on (though i dont like the tightly placed encoder on elektron hardware but i gues you have to adjust to that fingertip-tweeking style).

I really wonder how midi is transferred via overbridge. The elektron site says overbridge gets audio into the daw but does it also get midi into the daw so that it gets synced perfectly. Normally midi coming from the outside of the DAW triggering Plugins is not delay compensated since the DAW has no information when midi is coming. This is pretty important i think since the Digitakt also offers 8 Midi Channels and i would want to use them to trigger Reason Devices. But honestly then Rewire-Midi comes into play too and the setup gets bigger if at all possible.
Did any other elektron sequencers utilise midi over overbridge or is the Digitakt the first?

edit:

another pretty good demonstration:
Last edited by electrofux on 23 Apr 2017, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 194
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

22 Apr 2017

I have no idea, but something else I realized. All those swedes should get together somehow, or at least promote each other's protocols. I forgot about their overbridge technology and that is why they dropped the multiple outputs. I only use Reason so it would have been cool to load rex files a least. I get what they are doing with overbridge but a box like this would push me to turn my computer off. Maybe they could create an overbridge RE.

electrofux
Posts: 385
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

23 Apr 2017

bxbrkrz wrote:I have no idea, but something else I realized. All those swedes should get together somehow, or at least promote each other's protocols. I forgot about their overbridge technology and that is why they dropped the multiple outputs. I only use Reason so it would have been cool to load rex files a least. I get what they are doing with overbridge but a box like this would push me to turn my computer off. Maybe they could create an overbridge RE.
If there was an Overbridge Re i would most likely own a box or two from them. But i doubt it is even possible. And since i am already hyped by the Digitakt i am starting to thing how you could get those two together in a slim setup. Hence my question marks about the overbridge Midi pipe (they actually haven't mentioned Midi over overbridge afaik) and latency when triggering Reason Devices.

electrofux
Posts: 385
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

23 Apr 2017

Have looked into this a bit more. Afaik they haven't even mentioned Midi over Overbridge so chances are midi will flow normally into the computer and then you would run into latency problems when triggering Plugins/Rewired REs. But maybe they have all the midi in the plugin like on the MPC. We have to wait for that but for me it is pretty crucial.

electrofux
Posts: 385
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

28 Apr 2017

Well, well. This box has just become ALOT more attractive :-)

To have this hooked up with Reason and being able to sequence Reasons synths without the hazzle of needing an external VST host is just very appealing.

Offtopic but i am happy to be able to use the Circuit VST-editor in Reason too.

User avatar
satyr32
Posts: 304
Joined: 29 Apr 2015
Location: Vaduz, Liechtentein
Contact:

29 Apr 2017

Has someone already tried the Reason 9.5 beta with Overbridge?
I am really exciting to hear if it works.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
https://soundcloud.com/aeon_eternal

electrofux
Posts: 385
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

29 Apr 2017

Yeah man, if anyone with a Rytm or the likes please report back (if the NDA allows).

electrofux
Posts: 385
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

12 May 2017



That one is pretty cool too. The guy really does a good job presenting this device.

User avatar
satyr32
Posts: 304
Joined: 29 Apr 2015
Location: Vaduz, Liechtentein
Contact:

16 May 2017

Overbridge works fine in Reason 9.5. Beta, including the individual outs.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
https://soundcloud.com/aeon_eternal

User avatar
MirEko
Posts: 234
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

21 May 2017

satyr32 wrote:Overbridge works fine in Reason 9.5. Beta, including the individual outs.
Awesome news :mrgreen:
:reason: :record: :re: :ignition: :refill: :PUF_take: :PUF_figure:

electrofux
Posts: 385
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

23 May 2017

Args, Manual is out and Overbridge is delayed for "later this year" :/

User avatar
O1B
Posts: 420
Joined: 26 Jan 2015

31 May 2017

NOW SHIPPING!! - from .se

- Very Capable 8 tracks of Drums.
- Elektron sequencing
- Awesome sound design capabilities.
- multi channel USB
- FAT SOUNDS
- Delay and Reverb - alone $2-300 FX.
- Micro timing AND tuning

Took me a while to come around to this one, but I think I get it.


User avatar
O1B
Posts: 420
Joined: 26 Jan 2015

31 May 2017

Peep that background:
BisCuit
Moog, BYSS, MOOG
TR-summun?, Didtakt, mBrute, NYX
OP-1
ish..

Now, that's a Spread.

adfielding wrote:Looks like it'd be really cool for live use. Might be something I'd be tempted by.

User avatar
adfielding
Posts: 312
Joined: 19 May 2015
Contact:

31 May 2017

O1B wrote:Peep that background:
BisCuit
Moog, BYSS, MOOG
TR-summun?, Didtakt, mBrute, NYX
OP-1
ish..

Now, that's a Spread.

adfielding wrote:Looks like it'd be really cool for live use. Might be something I'd be tempted by.
Yeah, that's the video I saw a couple of days back - did a really job of demonstrating why it'd be great for live sequencing. Maybe I'll treat myself when I'm feeling a little more flush :)

User avatar
O1B
Posts: 420
Joined: 26 Jan 2015

31 May 2017

"Flush"... I hear ya. I'm drained, but I had to accept that the Elec 2.0 is leagues behind feature-by-feature - and I have an album to make.
But the E 2.0 is awesome in it's own right. Im just Blind, and the knobs are all over the place.

Digitakt: The Forward, Reverse, Forward-Loop, reverse-Loop, Start-Stop-ness is wicked!
I really appreciate my man cuckoo now. Sample-straight-to-chromatic... with looping... nice.

This is a pretty good one, too:


Godspeed choosing. First Elektron instrument for me.
adfielding wrote:
O1B wrote:Peep that background:
BisCuit
Moog, BYSS, MOOG
TR-summun?, Didtakt, mBrute, NYX
OP-1
ish..

Now, that's a Spread.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MefPEo_9kiI
adfielding wrote:Looks like it'd be really cool for live use. Might be something I'd be tempted by.
Yeah, that's the video I saw a couple of days back - did a really job of demonstrating why it'd be great for live sequencing. Maybe I'll treat myself when I'm feeling a little more flush :)

User avatar
O1B
Posts: 420
Joined: 26 Jan 2015

31 May 2017

Sorry.. it was never posted here, but Mr. Cuckoo is Great at the step-by-step and just getting-into-the-groove.
That Screen:


Pause around the 3:10(12) - 3:15 to see the parameters per Track for Filter, AMP, LFO - as he switches VIEW. Nice.
4:37 is a Sample Settings (i think, SRC) VIEW.
adfielding wrote:Looks like it'd be really cool for live use. Might be something I'd be tempted by.

Yeah, that's the video I saw a couple of days back - did a really job of demonstrating why it'd be great for live sequencing. Maybe I'll treat myself when I'm feeling a little more flush :)

electrofux
Posts: 385
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

31 May 2017

adfielding wrote:Looks like it'd be really cool for live use. Might be something I'd be tempted by.
I really want to get one and i am following the elektronauts discussion. There are a few disapointing things around the release though. Like no overbridge for a while. People are upset about not savable pattern chains. The Master section is just a Mixer. You cant record chords into the sequencer atm which is supposed to be a bug. Also people figure that saving everything into a pattern is suboptimal and want extra kits back.

But nevertheless i am still waiting on a green light in the online shop and then might do an impulse buy :-)

User avatar
O1B
Posts: 420
Joined: 26 Jan 2015

31 May 2017

Thanks for the heads UP! I am trying to watch each video carefully and am going to read the manual tonight.

Regarding Overbridge: At 44 or 48kHz sample rate, Ill probably use the multi track of the TR-8 or MX-1 instead (96kHz) .. same for most my Gear.
CHORDS: While the Chord Record isn't f(x)ing yet, one could RECORD the chords as a sample for holding until better Synth Gear is used or directly tracked. I will welcome chords, though.

Saving Per Pattern or Per Kit: I've never used an Elektron Instrument, but I have the E 2.0 and a TR-8.
The TR-8, I believe, saves per Kit. 16 Kits. 16 Patterns tied to your choice of Kit.
But changing a Sound (808 Kick to 909 Kick) will change the KIT - even though ithe "Kit" was made for an 808 . Not Great.
And, you'll never remember!!
The E 2.0, I believe, saves Per Patttern. You also can put a KICK on any of the 16 locations. - like the Digitakt.
(only Track 1 in the TR-8)

I'd like long, uninterrupted moments of music creation/exploration. This on-the-go Sampler thing seems to fit the bill.
If I were using it as a Kit Library, maybe Id have second thoughts. This is the thought that came to mind:
Image
electrofux wrote:
adfielding wrote:Looks like it'd be really cool for live use. Might be something I'd be tempted by.
I really want to get one and i am following the elektronauts discussion. There are a few disapointing things around the release though. Like no overbridge for a while. People are upset about not savable pattern chains. The Master section is just a Mixer. You cant record chords into the sequencer atm which is supposed to be a bug. Also people figure that saving everything into a pattern is suboptimal and want extra kits back.

But nevertheless i am still waiting on a green light in the online shop and then might do an impulse buy :-)

electrofux
Posts: 385
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

01 Jun 2017

Yeah the kit thing is no biggie for me, and the chord issue too. If overbridge wasn't delayed i am pretty sure i would have placed an order already.
The trig conditions alone are worth it. It is something i have allways wanted, like telling a step to only play every now and then. Staying in a 1 bar pattern and being able to make it very complex overtime is just very very nice workflow.

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests