Wondering if I've got the skills to code.

This forum is for anything not Reason related, if you just want to talk about other stuff. Please keep it friendly!
Post Reply
User avatar
MrFigg
Competition Winner
Posts: 9136
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

17 Nov 2022

I wrote a program and am feeling pretty good about it. I'm wondering if I can take it to the next stage and start coding. Here's the program if anyone is interested. It's open source:

10 PRINT "MrFigg"
20 GOTO 10
RUN
πŸ—² 2ΰ₯ ᛉ

User avatar
Rising Night Wave
Posts: 1220
Joined: 03 Sep 2019
Location: Vransko, Slovenia
Contact:

17 Nov 2022

haha
Rising Night Wave & Extus at SoundCloud
HW: Asus ROG Strix G513QM | Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen | M-Audio M3-8 | M-Audio Uber Mic | Shure SRH1840 | Shure SE215 | LG 49UK6400
SW: Windows 11 Pro | Reason 10 | Reason+

User avatar
DaveyG
Posts: 2534
Joined: 03 May 2020

17 Nov 2022

You might struggle to find something to run that on these days.

User avatar
MrFigg
Competition Winner
Posts: 9136
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

17 Nov 2022

DaveyG wrote: ↑
17 Nov 2022
You might struggle to find something to run that on these days.
People part with thousands for original analog synths. Β£50’ll get you a 48k ZX Speccy on EBay :).
πŸ—² 2ΰ₯ ᛉ

RobC
Posts: 1848
Joined: 10 Mar 2018

17 Nov 2022

I do have a PET, I think, with beautiful fluorescent green screen. : )

User avatar
DaveyG
Posts: 2534
Joined: 03 May 2020

17 Nov 2022

MrFigg wrote: ↑
17 Nov 2022
DaveyG wrote: ↑
17 Nov 2022
You might struggle to find something to run that on these days.
People part with thousands for original analog synths. Β£50’ll get you a 48k ZX Speccy on EBay :).
I'm glad you specified the 48K version. You don't want to be running out of memory in the middle of composing your monophonic beep concerto.

User avatar
Vincent Vitellius
Posts: 27
Joined: 22 May 2021

17 Nov 2022

Sorry, you are a sloppy programmer...

Your program can be optimized to this:

Code: Select all

0PRINT"MrFigg":GOTO
RUN
You save a couple of bytes by coding the entire app on one line.
You save another couple of bytes by eliminating the spaces
You save another couple of bytes by not specifying an argument on the GOTO command. If no argument is supplied, 0 is implied.
That's also why you start with line 0
The GOTO optimization also saves a few CPU cycles, making the app run faster.

No wonder apps have become bloatware these days. Sigh.

Who needs readable code when there are no bugs to debug? :D
:reason: 12 | Expensive plugins | Expensive PC | No wife :thumbup:

User avatar
MrFigg
Competition Winner
Posts: 9136
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

17 Nov 2022

Vincent Vitellius wrote: ↑
17 Nov 2022
Sorry, you are a sloppy programmer...

Your program can be optimized to this:

Code: Select all

0PRINT"MrFigg":GOTO
RUN
You save a couple of bytes by coding the entire app on one line.
You save another couple of bytes by eliminating the spaces
You save another couple of bytes by not specifying an argument on the GOTO command. If no argument is supplied, 0 is implied.
That's also why you start with line 0
The GOTO optimization also saves a few CPU cycles, making the app run faster.

No wonder apps have become bloatware these days. Sigh.

Who needs readable code when there are no bugs to debug? :D
There's a place for you on the team.
πŸ—² 2ΰ₯ ᛉ

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 3044
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany
Contact:

17 Nov 2022

MrFigg wrote: ↑
17 Nov 2022
I wrote a program and am feeling pretty good about it. I'm wondering if I can take it to the next stage and start coding. Here's the program if anyone is interested. It's open source:

10 PRINT "MrFigg"
20 GOTO 10
RUN
Yo, that's some true mad bad old school basic skillz.

User avatar
challism
Moderator
Posts: 4658
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Fanboy Shill, Boomertown

17 Nov 2022

I'm wondering if I've got the code for skills.
Players are to MIDI what synthesizers are to waveforms.

ReasonTalk Rules and Guidelines

User avatar
fullforce
Posts: 849
Joined: 18 Aug 2018

18 Nov 2022

MrFigg wrote: ↑
17 Nov 2022
I wrote a program and am feeling pretty good about it. I'm wondering if I can take it to the next stage and start coding. Here's the program if anyone is interested. It's open source:

10 PRINT "MrFigg"
20 GOTO 10
RUN
10 INPUT "What is your name":A$
20 IF A$="MrFigg" then goto 50
30 IF A$="Fullforce" then PRINT "cool name":goto 60
40 PRINT "nobody cares":end
50 PRINT "WHAT A TOSSER NAME!!!"
60 end
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 255 character limit.

User avatar
MrFigg
Competition Winner
Posts: 9136
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

18 Nov 2022

fullforce wrote: ↑
18 Nov 2022
MrFigg wrote: ↑
17 Nov 2022
I wrote a program and am feeling pretty good about it. I'm wondering if I can take it to the next stage and start coding. Here's the program if anyone is interested. It's open source:

10 PRINT "MrFigg"
20 GOTO 10
RUN
10 INPUT "What is your name":A$
20 IF A$="MrFigg" then goto 50
30 IF A$="Fullforce" then PRINT "cool name":goto 60
40 PRINT "nobody cares":end
50 PRINT "WHAT A TOSSER NAME!!!"
60 end
10 GOTO hell
Run!!!
πŸ—² 2ΰ₯ ᛉ

User avatar
integerpoet
Posts: 832
Joined: 30 Dec 2020
Location: East Bay, California
Contact:

18 Nov 2022

DaveyG wrote: ↑
17 Nov 2022
You might struggle to find something to run that on these days.
Hell, these days there are Apple II emulators you can tweet that program to and they'll tweet back what it does.

At least as long as Twitter stays up.

User avatar
MrFigg
Competition Winner
Posts: 9136
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

18 Nov 2022

Peek and poke
πŸ—² 2ΰ₯ ᛉ

User avatar
platzangst
Posts: 729
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

25 Nov 2022

MrFigg wrote: ↑
18 Nov 2022

10 GOTO hell
Run!!!
Image

Heater
Posts: 894
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

25 Nov 2022

10 PRINT "WAITING FOR NATIVE M1 SUPPORT"
20 IF M1SUPPORT = TRUE THEN GOTO 60
30 IF M1SUPPORT = FALSE THEN GOTO 40
40 PRINT "WAITING FOREVER"
50 GOTO 40
60 PRINT "HELL HAS FROZEN OVER. M1 SUPPORT HAS ARRIVED!!!"

User avatar
crimsonwarlock
Posts: 2327
Joined: 06 Nov 2021
Location: Close to the Edge

25 Nov 2022

Heater wrote: ↑
25 Nov 2022
10 PRINT "WAITING FOR NATIVE M1 SUPPORT"
20 IF M1SUPPORT = TRUE THEN GOTO 60
30 IF M1SUPPORT = FALSE THEN GOTO 40
40 PRINT "WAITING FOREVER"
50 GOTO 40
60 PRINT "HELL HAS FROZEN OVER. M1 SUPPORT HAS ARRIVED!!!"
So, no M1 support now means no M1 support ever, according to your code :lol:
-------
Analog tape β‡’ ESQ1 sequencer board β‡’ Atari/Steinberg Pro24 β‡’ Atari/Cubase β‡’ Cakewalk Sonar β‡’ Orion Pro/Platinum β‡’ Reaper β‡’ Reason DAW.

Heater
Posts: 894
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

25 Nov 2022

crimsonwarlock wrote: ↑
25 Nov 2022
Heater wrote: ↑
25 Nov 2022
10 PRINT "WAITING FOR NATIVE M1 SUPPORT"
20 IF M1SUPPORT = TRUE THEN GOTO 60
30 IF M1SUPPORT = FALSE THEN GOTO 40
40 PRINT "WAITING FOREVER"
50 GOTO 40
60 PRINT "HELL HAS FROZEN OVER. M1 SUPPORT HAS ARRIVED!!!"
So, no M1 support now means no M1 support ever, according to your code :lol:
That's what it feels like :lol:

User avatar
crimsonwarlock
Posts: 2327
Joined: 06 Nov 2021
Location: Close to the Edge

25 Nov 2022

Heater wrote: ↑
25 Nov 2022
crimsonwarlock wrote: ↑
25 Nov 2022
So, no M1 support now means no M1 support ever, according to your code :lol:
That's what it feels like :lol:
People used to think that way about VST3 too, and now... :puf_bigsmile:
-------
Analog tape β‡’ ESQ1 sequencer board β‡’ Atari/Steinberg Pro24 β‡’ Atari/Cubase β‡’ Cakewalk Sonar β‡’ Orion Pro/Platinum β‡’ Reaper β‡’ Reason DAW.

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests