Taking a break from music making?

This forum is for anything not Reason related, if you just want to talk about other stuff. Please keep it friendly!
TritoneAddiction
Competition Winner

15 Apr 2018

So I've been writing new material continuesly for about 3 years now without really taking any longer break from it.

Last couple of months it's been increasingly harder to sit down to work on new music and at this moment I simply don't feel inspired to sit down with Reason at all.

Maybe it's time to take a break and do something else for a while.

How often do you take breaks from creative work? Anyone has any insight on the matter?

pushedbutton

15 Apr 2018

I'm getting into 3D modeling in blender and Unity at the moment.
I got a VR headset in January and started making avatars and worlds for VRChat.
I've picked up quite a few skills along the way because I've had a reason to solve the problems I come across. Once my world has been fleshed out I'll have something to write some music for and I'll be ready to dive deep back into Reason. My Dad wanted to record a cover version so I recently put the project together for him and recorded a vocal for him to follow, I'm not too into the song myself but I enjoyed putting it together for him.
I guess TLDR is find a reason to use Reason before you feel like you're just throwing ideas at a wall and hoping for the best.
@pushedbutton on twitter, add me, send me a message, but don't try to sell me stuff cos I'm skint.
Using Reason since version 3 and still never finished a song.

Runner2x

15 Apr 2018

pushedbutton wrote:
15 Apr 2018
I guess TLDR is find a reason to use Reason before you feel like you're just throwing ideas at a wall and hoping for the best.