How much money (roughly) do Audio Engineers make?

This forum is for anything not Reason related, if you just want to talk about other stuff. Please keep it friendly!
Social Exodus

17 Oct 2017

I ask for two reasons. One is because at one point long ago in the pre digital age I wanted to be one myself. But also because of the numbers of people here and elsewhere who fret (a lot) over the prices of upgrades or plugins.

I ended up being a computer programmer back in the late 80s and now I'm a SQL Server DBA. While occasionally I wish the tools I buy had this feature or that, i just reason it's a tool, I use it in my work and that's just the cost of doing business.

Admittedly I know little of the audio engineering field other than my hobby with both Reason and SONAR so I ask here - does the field pay so poorly that $129 is that much of a problem to get the latest and greatest version of Reason, or whatever a Rack Extension may cost that would make your jobs that much better overall?

I in no way wish to insult, demean or otherwise question any one person or persons motives or means - I just actually don't know what the pros make in this world and I'm thinking of doing this as my last career once I retire from the IT world.
:reason: 11 Suite/12 Perpetual License :re: Too many to count :refill: A few choice items

Nektar Panorama P4
Korg padKontrol

Carly(Poohbear)
Competition Winner

17 Oct 2017

Without getting too side tracked, my main bread and butter was with SQL server, use to work for the dark side, Microsoft, managing the largest SQL server in the world and all of their sales and Marketing stuff.